Superhero Saturday: Wonder Woman stamps dedication ceremony at the 2016 New York Comic-Con

Since 1941, DC Comics has given Wonder Woman the seal of approval in delivering the message of peace, sisterhood, truth, equality, love, and justice to the world of man.  Now, the Amazonian warrior princess is about to be signed, sealed, and delivered thanks to the U.S. Postal Service with a series of Forever stamps.  On Friday, a dedication ceremony for the stamps will take place at this year’s New York Comic-Con in honor of Wonder Woman’s 75th anniversary, where each of the 20 Forever stamps will consists of four covers: the Golden Age (1941-55), the Silver Age (1956-72), the Bronze Age (1973-86), and the Modern Age (1986-present).

Created by William Moulton Marston, Wonder Woman is indeed “THE” world’s finest of female superheroes: putting all her might to fight on the side of right for the old red-white-blue known as the United States of America.  Born and raised on Paradise Island, she becomes their ambassador as well as ours against the evil in our world: tyranny, terrorism, cruelty, oppression, greed, and corruption.  Completing the trinity with Superman and Batman, Wonder Woman is one of the founding leading members of the Justice League, the world’s finest of Earth’s greatest superheroes.

3-0_usps16sta046dIn the mid-1970s, Wonder Woman has been defined by Lynda Carter in the television series that aired three seasons on ABC and CBS from 1975 to 1979: leading the way for Emmy winner Lindsay Wagner as “The Bionic Woman” and “Charlie’s Angels” with Kate Jackson, Jaclyn Smith, Cheryl Ladd, Shelley Hack, Tanya Roberts, and of course, the late Farrah Fawcett.  Not only that, Wonder Woman continued the growing rise of female empowerment on television with shows such as “Xena: Warrior Princess” starring Lucy Lawless; “Buffy, the Vampire Slayer” starring Sarah Michelle Gellar, and CW’s “Supergirl” with Melissa Benoist as National City’s Girl of Steel – and Superman’s cousin.  Carter has been appointed onto “Supergirl” as the President of the United States.

After Cartoon Network’s “Justice League” and “Justice League Unlimited”, Wonder Woman finally appeared onto the big screen in this year’s “Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice” with Gal Gadot opposite Henry Cavill’s Metropolis’ Man of Steel and Ben Affleck’s Bat of Gotham/Dark Knight Detective/Caped Crusader.  Gadot will reprise the role of “Wonder Woman” in next year’s titular standalone film with Chris Pine as Steve Trevor, followed by “Justice League” with Affleck, Cavill, Jason Momoa as Aquaman, Ezra Miller as the Flash, Ray Fisher as Cyborg, and J.K. Simmons as Gotham City police commissioner James ‘Jim’ Gordon.

Reruns of Lynda Carter as “Wonder Woman” airs every Saturday night on Me-TV.

Wonder Woman – Stamp Pane (USPS)

Sponsored Stories

Sponsored Stories