Email Login
New users
sign up!

Detroit's Only FREE E-mail Provider



1000 River Place Drive • Detroit, MI • 48207
(313) 259-9500 •


32nd Automotive News World Congress Provides Stage For Discourse on Recent Industry Events and Future

PHOTO CREDIT: Copyright © 2007-2008 Crain Communications Inc.


DETROIT -- Ford Motor Company President and CEO, Alan Mulally, and Volkswagen of America Inc. President and CEO, Stefan Jacoby, are among 30 influential automotive industry leaders who will share their perspectives and predictions during the 2008 Automotive News World Congress. The four-day annual event is slated for Monday - Thursday, Jan. 21 - 24 at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center in Detroit, Mich.

The conference opens with a 5:30 p.m. reception on Monday, followed by morning into evening individual presentations, panel discussions and keynote speakers on Tuesday and Wednesday, from 9 a.m. - 9:30 p.m. An 8:30 a.m. Thursday tour of the North American International Auto Show caps the conference.

Sponsored by IBM and PricewaterhouseCoopers, the Automotive News World Congress is presented in cooperation with Center for Automotive Research (CAR).

Among the executives who will join Mulally and Jacoby in addressing more
than 800 expected attendees are:

  • Walter P. Czarnecki, Executive Vice President, Penske Corporation
  • Dr. Pawan Goenka, President (Automotive Sector) & Member of the Group Management Board, Mahindra & Mahindra
  • Dean Harlow, President, Ricardo, Inc.
  • Roland Hwang, Vehicles Policy Director, Natural Resources Defense Council
  • William Kozyra, President and CEO, Continental Automotive Systems North America, Continental AG
  • Derrick M. Kuzak, Group Vice President, Global Product Development, The Americas, Ford Motor Company
  • Chris Lacey, Executive Director, Central & Eastern Europe, General Motors
  • Dr. Byron McCormick, Executive Director - Fuel Cell Activities, GM Powertrain
  • Mark McNabb, Senior Vice President, Sales and Marketing, Nissan North America Inc.
  • Deborah Wahl Meyer, Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, Chrysler LLC
  • Margo Oge, Director, Office of Transportation and Air Quality, United States Environmental Protection Agency
  • Randy Ortiz, General Manager, Ford and Lincoln Mercury Sales, Ford Motor Company
  • Bill Reinert, National Alternative Fuel Vehicle Manager, Toyota Motor Sales USA Inc.
  • Sanjay Rishi, Global Automotive Industry Leader, IBM Global Business Services
  • Wilbur L. Ross, Jr., Chairman and CEO, W.L. Ross & Co. LLC
  • Sheldon Sandler, President and CEO, Bel Air Partners, LLC
  • Dave Schembri, President, smart USA
  • Mark Templin, Group Vice President and General Manager, Lexus Division, Toyota Motor Sales U.S.A. Inc.
  • Liz Vanzura, Global Marketing Director, Cadillac, General Motors
  • Dale Willey, Chairman, National Automobile Dealers Association
  • Mary Ann Wright, Chief Executive Officer Vice President and General Manager Hybrid Systems Group, Johnson Controls - Saft Advanced Power Solutions LLC Johnson Controls, Inc.

Topics for the concurrent afternoon panel programs on Tuesday and
Wednesday, Jan. 22 and 23, are:

  • The industry's green movement: the opportunities and challenges of going green will be analyzed; specifically how the industry will meet regulatory mandates and consumer expectations for more fuel efficient, environmentally friendly vehicles.
  • Issues impacting dealers: the discussion will explore automotive retailing, especially how the distribution network is evolving to meet the needs of tomorrow's market.
  • Marketing and sales initiatives: the dialogue will focus on how automakers are developing and incorporating individualized marketing and the intricacies of reaching today's technologically savvy consumers - in a seemingly effortless manner.
  • Overseas market growth: automakers and suppliers will share advice on finding the right partners and properly structuring relationships for growth in the hot "opportunity" markets of Russia, India and China.

Recipients of the Polk Loyalty Awards will be announced during Tuesday evening's Automotive News World Congress dinner program. Wednesday's dinner program will highlight the Automotive News/PricewaterhouseCoopers Shareholder Value Awards and the presentation of the BorgWarner Owner and Driver Trophies.

The early-bird registration fee for all four days of the Automotive News World Congress is $1,395 by Nov. 30. The registration fee is $1,595 beginning Dec. 1 and the daily rate is $975. Dinner-only tickets for the Tuesday and Wednesday evening programs are $195 per person or $1,850 for a table of ten. A full agenda, speaker background and online registration are available at For questions, contact CAR by phone at 866- 374-6227 (U.S. only) or 734-929-0498, by fax at 734-662-5736 or via e-mail at

Additional sponsors for the 2008 Automotive News World Congress are BorgWarner, i2, International Automotive Components, JATO, Meredith Publishing, Microsoft, OESA, R.L. Polk & Company, State of Kentucky and the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Automotive News, a trusted name in the industry for more than 80 years, is a critical source of news, data, analysis and information for the North American auto industry. The weekly publication provides in-depth coverage of the auto industry and is written for automakers, dealers and suppliers. This unsurpassed industry coverage is fully supported by a comprehensive website, e-mail newsletters and breaking news alerts that provide readers with the latest information. Visit

Source: Automotive News

:: Return to Our Coverage of the 2008 NAIAS ::



January 17 - 20, 2008

The Dow Arena

Once again, will Broadcast LIVE from the 2008 North American International Auto Show Press Preview Days and Industry Preview Days. Read our Press Release.
We will bring you the most comprehensive coverage ever with interviews, reviews and the best pictures around. It's all from -- Detroit's #1 Website with The BEST Coverage. Period.

This page was last updated on Mon, December 10, 2007 9:03 PM


>> Bookmark This Site Now! << - free web hosting. Free hosting with no banners.



Copyright © 2007 All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication or use of Text, Site Template, Graphics and or Site Design is Prohibited by Federal and International laws. See our Notice/Disclaimer. Official NAIAS logos used with permission under license.