73rd annual Primetime Emmy Awards: Winners List

Graphic credit: Television Academy/EMMYS

The 73rd annual Primetime Emmy Awards aired LIVE on CBS-TV on Sunday, Sept. 19, 2021. Cedric the Entertainer served as this year’s host. To be eligible, prime time television programming must have aired from June 1, 2020, until May 31, 2021, as chosen by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. The top winners for the night included “The Queens Gambit,” “The Crown” and “Ted Lasso.”

Best Limited Series

“The Queen’s Gambit” (Netflix)

Best Drama

“The Crown” (Netflix)

Best Comedy

“Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Variety Special, Pre-Recorded


Outstanding Variety Special, Live

“Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020”

Video by Television Academy / EMMYS

Best Actor, Drama

Josh O’Connor for “The Crown”

Best Actress, Drama

Olivia Colman for “The Crown”

Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie

Ewan McGregor for “Halston”

Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie

Kate Winslet for “Mare of Easttown”

Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special

Michaela Coel for “I May Destroy You”

Directing for a Limited Series

Scott Frank for “The Queen’s Gambit”

Reality Competition Program

“RuPaul’s Drag Race”

Video by Television Academy / EMMYS

Best Actor, Comedy

Jason Sudeikis for “Ted Lasso”

Best Actress, Comedy

Jean Smart for “Hacks”

Directing for a Comedy Series

Lucia Aniello for “Hacks” (“There Is No Line”)

Writing for a Comedy Series

Lucia Aniello for Paul W. Downs and Jen Statsky, “Hacks” (“There Is No Line”)

Variety Sketch Series

“Saturday Night Live”

Variety Talk Series

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Writing for a Variety Series

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”

Supporting Actor, Drama

Tobias Menzies for “The Crown”

Supporting Actress, Drama

Gillian Anderson for “The Crown”

Directing for a Drama Series

Jessica Hobbs for “The Crown” (“War”)

Writing for a Drama Series

Peter Morgan for “The Crown” (“War”)

Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie

Evan Peters for “Mare of Easttown”

Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie

Julianne Nicholson for “Mare of Easttown”

Supporting Actor, Comedy

Brett Goldstein for “Ted Lasso”

Supporting Actress, Comedy

Hannah Waddingham for “Ted Lasso”

Directing for a Variety Special

Bo Burnham for “Inside”

Directing for a Variety Series

Don Roy King for “Saturday Night Live”

Guest Actress, Comedy

Maya Rudolph for “Saturday Night Live”

Guest Actor, Comedy

Dave Chappelle for “Saturday Night Live”

Guest Actress, Drama

Claire Foy for “The Crown”

Guest Actor, Drama

Courtney B. Vance for “Lovecraft Country”

Television Movie

“Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square” (Netflix)

Source: The Television Academy

Sponsored Stories

Sponsored Stories