2016 North American Car and Truck/Utility of the Year Nominees

DETROIT — The final list of nominees for the 2016 North American Car and Truck/Utility of the Year (NACTOY) Awards were announced recently. A vehicle must be brand new or “substantially changed” in order to be eligible for the award. In addition, it must go on sale in the U.S. and Canada shortly after winning. Last year’s winners were the Volkswagen Golf and the Ford F-150.

While the winners are announced at the North American International Auto Show, the auto show in Detroit does not give the awards nor does the voting take place at the show. This year the awards are given by 57 veteran automotive journalists from Canada and the United States.


The nominees for the 2016 awards are listed below:

Car Truck/Utility
Acura ILX Fiat 500X
Audi TT Ford Edge
BMW 7-Series Honda HR-V
Cadillac ATS-V Honda Pilot
Cadillac CT6 Hyundai Tucson
Chevrolet Camaro Infiniti QX50
Chevrolet Malibu Jeep Renegade
Chevrolet Spark Kia Sorento
Chrysler 300 Land Rover Discovery Sport
Ford Mustang Shelby GT350 Lexus RX
Honda Civic Lincoln MKX
Jaguar XF Mazda CX-3
Kia Optima Mercedes-Benz GLC
Mazda MX-5 Miata Mercedes-Benz GLE
Nissan Altima Mercedes-Benz Metris
Nissan Maxima Mitsubishi Outlander
Scion iA Nissan Titan
Scion iM Ram ProMaster City
Toyota Prius 20 Tesla Model X
Toyota Tacoma
Volvo XC90

What’s Next? Jurors will vote once again to narrow down the list. Finalists will be announced at an Automotive Press Association (APA) luncheon in Detroit in December. Then, the winners will be revealed during the first press day of the 2016 North American International Auto Show in January.

For more information, visit www.northamericancaroftheyear.org

Sponsored Stories

Sponsored Stories