MAC Media Day at the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Toledo is the Pre-Season Favorite

CANTON, Ohio — The 2017 College Football Season is starting to ramp-up as the Mid-American Conference had their season preview at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.   All eyes lead to the 21st Marathon MAC Football Championship game on Saturday, Dec. 2nd  at Ford Field in Detroit.

Former Western Michigan coach Tim Fleck left for Minnesota but he didn’t leave the cupboard bare as the Broncos have RB’s Javion Franklin and Jamauri Bogan to follow the big holes made by All-MAC offensive linemen Chukwuma Okorafor and John Keenoy.  New coach Tim Lester has Western Michigan poised to be competitive.  Look for their November 24th date at Toledo to settle the divisional title.

Third year Central Michigan head coach John Bonamego has two quality quarterbacks in Tony Poljan and Michigan graduate transfer Shane Morris.  CMU will play a spread offense which will be conducive to both QB’s style.  Look for tight end Tyler Conklin to be a force for the Chips.

Eastern Michigan has some offensive strength returning and hope springs eternal for another bowl bid.  Coach Chris Creighton is starting his fourth-year and the Eagles will ride senior quarterback Brogan Roback.  Creighton said, “He is the leader of our team.”

Commissioner Jon Steinbrecher, said that the pace of play is an issue that needs tweaking.  In his welcome address he noted that college football contests are being spread over a longer period of time.  Steinbrecher said, “We need to make sure we are doing everything possible administratively so that we don’t look to change rules or do anything that alters the fabric of the game.  Among things you will notice is a greater emphasis in the resumption of play following halftime. We expect the field of play to be ready for the second half kickoff.”

Other important points of emphasis that Steinbrecher made prominent are unsportsmanlike conduct for coaches as well as for players.  This includes focus on taunting on touchdowns or after big hits.  Also it will be an automatic penalty if a coach enters the field of play.

MAC- Notes:

Toledo and Ohio U. have been designated as the favorites to win the West and East Divisions respectfully in the 2017 Mid-American Conference Football Preseason Poll.  The poll was conducted and announced last week by the MAC’s football information office.  Toledo senior quarterback Logan Woodside had an impressive 45 touchdown passes last year as the Rockets finished with a 9-4 overall record.  Look for him and the Rockets to even be better as they return 15 starters.


Former Akron Zips defensive lineman Jason Taylor was announced as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017.  Taylor, who spent 13 of his 15 seasons in the NFL with the Miami Dolphins was announced as a member of the 2017 Hall of Fame Class.  Joining Taylor as the Class of 2017 includes kicker Morten Andersen; running back Terrell Davis; safety Kenny Easley; owner and general manager of the Dallas Cowboys, Jerry Jones; running back LaDainian Tomlinson; and quarterback Kurt Warner.

Taylor is only the second player in the history of the Mid-American Conference, along with Kent State linebacker Jack Lambert of the Pittsburgh Steelers, to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  Taylor was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. The 2017 Hall of Fame induction ceremonies will take place Saturday, Aug. 5 in Canton, Ohio.

Taylor didn’t play high school football until he was a senior.  He stressed perseverance and his mother’s inner strength as motivational tools that led to his success. 


Herb Deromedi, the winningest football coach in MAC and Central Michigan history, was named to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee.


MAC Commissioner Jon Steinbrecher at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. (Rolco Sports Network)

Sponsored Stories

Sponsored Stories